RSS Feed

Toddler Food : Khichadi

As soon as I saw and event on toddler food, I knew I had to participate.In fact, I knew the exact names and number of posts I was going to send. Since more than two years now, I have either been cooking toddler food and consuming it myself happily accepting it as adult food, or raking my brains to convert adult food to a form acceptable to my toddler.
When I step into the kitchen early morning, the first priority I have in my mind is to cook baby A’s three meals – which get packed and sent with her to her daycare. Next comes my breakfast and lunch. If I am running late, breakfast for me is a bowl of oatmeal and lunch is anything that the office cafeteria got to offer – but there is no getting out of the kitchen unless the baby’s meals are all set in her pyrex containers.
The staple diet for my toddler is khichadi – it is a must have lunch for her. Though very simple, I always try to vary it by changing the daals that go with rice. It is also my hiding place for veggies – it almost always got grated in carrots, tomatoes and spinach. I would like to confess here that I always make it extra, as I am very tempted to have some myself. Subtle in flavors and rich in nutrients, it is a perfect comfort food.

Khichadi : comfort food for all ages

Ingredients –
Rice – Half Cup
Toor/ Arhar Daal – One-fourth Cup
Yellow / Dhuli Moong Daal – One-fourth Cup
Tomatoes – 1 small or Half big
Carrots – 1 small or half big
Spinach leaves – handful
Salt – half tsp
Turmeric powder / Haldi – a pinch
Heeng / Asfotedia – a pinch
Ghee – 2 tsp

Method –
1. Take a clean cooker and put the rice and daals in it. Wash them multiple times with water, till the water is clear.
2. Add water, nearly thrice the quantity of rice and daals. I add 2.5 cups. This would make the khichadi pretty watery. Reduce it based on how the baby likes it.
3. Grate in the tomato and peeled carrot.
4. Wash and chop the spinach small. Add to the cooker.
5. Add in the salt, haldi and heeng.
6. Close the cooker and let the khichadi cook till 3-4 whistles.
7. Open the cooker when the steam goes off, mix in a spoonful of ghee.
8. Serve warm or cool and pack.

Sending this as my entry to the event ‘Healthy Food for Healthy Kids – Toddler Healthy Lunch’ happening at Priya’s blog ‘Enveetu Kitchen’

Also linking it to Nithu’s event announcement page at blog ‘Nithu’s kithcen’.

About Aroma of Spices

A project manager by profession, a cook by passion.

One response »

  1. I am starting to make my 5 month old his meals and I. Very excited to find your blog!

    Reply

Please leave a comment if you liked what you read..

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

