Choco Hearts – Treat for kids

Standard

‘Baby A’s liking for biscuits is inversely proportional to their availability in my home.’ Explanation – The day when I have only Parle G in stock, she wants ONLY Oreo. When I note this down in my grocery list and replenish my stock with Oreo, all she wants is Crackjack. Imagine an exhausted me standing in the kitchen with a huge box filled with assorted biscuits and baby A going on and on – ‘yeh walaa nahi woh walaa…choco walaa…parle walaa…nahi nahi , jam walaa…’. End result – I handover the entire box to her to scurry through, rushing my attention to the paratha burning away on the gas.
Now, a month or so ago, I realized that the layer of biscuits accumulated at the bottom of this box had gotten huge, mostly comprising of Marie biscuits. Many of them were obviously crushed or broken.
While I was wondering what to do with them, I suddenly remembered going through this amazing recipe of easy breezy yummy marie biscuit chocolate balls
that I had gone through a couple of times and drooled over.

I pretty much followed the same instructions and made these choco hearts, winning over the hearts of baby A and her little friends in the neighborhood. So glad I came across this recipe – thanks a lot Sailu!

Choco Hearts - treat for kids

Ingredients –
Marie Biscuits – as many as you have (I had 10-12)
Condensed Milk – 3 tbsp (I used Nestle Milkmaid)
Cocoa Powder – 2 tbsp
Butter – 1 tbsp

Method –
1. Powder the Marie biscuits using a mixer/ grinder/ food processor.
2. Sieve the powder so that you have a fine powder to work with.
3. To this, add the melted butter, condensed milk, cocoa powder and mix together to form a slightly sticky dough.
4. Roll these into small balls using your palms, or use cookie cutters like I did.
5. Sprinkle over desiccated coconut or cashew powder. This step is optional.
6. Keep them in the fridge for an hour and they are good to be gobbled down.

Please leave a comment if you liked what you read..

