Gajar ka halwa – using condensed milk

Standard
Made in an hour!

Made in an hour!

I made this halwa after maybe seven years – because of Gretchen Rubin! I was hearing her podcast where she says – ‘Don’t let perfect be the enemy of good.’ The message stayed with me and I realized I have quit cooking a lot of stuff just because I lack the time, energy or resources to make it the perfect way – which is the only way my mom would make it. She toils for hours to get the perfect thing, ignoring all the shortcuts I suggest over the phone. Though I have moved on to a lot of ‘microwave cooking’, there are things I feel are too pious to be tweaked around – as if I will hurt the feelings of the dish if I apply a a shortcut to it. One of them is gajar ka halwa – the real thing is simmered for hours on a slow flame to get the right texture and consistency. I did not even want to go anywhere near it, but the downside was that Aditi would never get to taste these delicacies which I grew up eating. I am the only person who links her back to her roots through my food. So I made up my mind and went ahead with this shortcut / one hour deal – and it was not bad at all! I will keep making it the same way – quick and tasty is the new perfect for me!

Ingredients –

Carrots (grated) – 8 cups. (I used my hand grater, took 20 minutes to grate this quantity).
Sweetened Condensed milk – 1 tin (Eagle brand is what I got)
2% skimmed milk – half cup
Cardamom/ Ilaichi powder  Р3 tsp
Ghee/ Clarified butter – 1 cup
Almonds, Pistachios, Raisins – chopped – half cup
Sugar – not required. The sweetened condensed milk suffices.

Method –

  1. Heat ghee in the wide, thick bottomed wok.
  2. Add the grated carrots in. Though 8 cups might look like a huge quantity, the carrots shrink to nearly 2/3 of their volume within first five minutes of cooking.
  3. Stir the deal so that all the carrots are coated with the ghee. Keep stirring till the carrots turn all glossy. This takes 7 to 8 mins on medium heat.
  4. Add in the condensed milk. All of it. Also add the 2% milk.
  5. Keep stirring intermittently.
  6. Add in the chopped nuts. I usually grind a few almonds to powder and add – it gives body and richness to the smooth and creamy halwa.
  7. After around 20 minutes, the milk will start to get absorbed and the carrots will start to look glossy due to all the ghee.
  8. Add the cardamom powder and mix.
  9. Keep stirring and mixing for another 10 mins or till all the liquid has gone and it is all smooth, rich and creamy semi solid state.
  10. Switch it off – add more nuts if you want to. Best served warm. Store in the fridge for like a week.

P.S. Here is my post to the authentic and lengthy way of making gajar ka halwa.

 

 

 

 

 

One response »

  1. Pingback: Eggless Cumin Cookies (Jeera Biscuits) | Aroma of Spices

Please leave a comment if you liked what you read..

