M&M cookies

Standard

I baked these cookies this Family Day – it was too cold to step outside and there is nothing more than my family enjoys than fresh baked cookies. Aditi and I often bake together – she has her opinion and suggestions around every recipe I pick. These ones are totally her kind – full of M&Ms and chocochips, soft and chewy.IMG_1204

Recipe source  – YummyoYummy

Steps –

  1. Take 1 cup of unsalted butter out of the fridge in a big mixing bowl. Let it be – for like three to four hours, so that it gets to room temperature. I usually bake on weekend evenings, and take out the butter to soften at room temperature while having my morning tea. At the same time, also take out two eggs if you keep them in the fridge, we need room temperature eggs.
  2. Whisk together 2 and 1/4 cups of All Purpose Flour, 1 tsp salt and 1 tsp baking soda in a bowl. You may want to sift it, but I just mix everything together for 5 minutes with the teaspoon I use to measure. These are your dry ingredients.
  3. To the softened butter, add 1 cup of white granulated sugar and packed half cup of light brown sugar. It is the brown sugar that gives the cookies its soft and chewy texture, there is no way you can skip or replace it. Add 2 tsp of vanilla extract too.
  4. Beat the butter and sugars together for 2 minutes using a hand mixer, till it gets all fluffy and creamy.
  5. Add in the eggs, beat again for a minute till everything is well incorporated.
  6. Now add the dry ingredients, in three parts, mixing / beating after every addition.
  7. Now keep the hand mixer aside and using in big spoon, scrape together the sides of the bowl so that the entire dough is one uniform sticky mess.
  8. Add in 1 cup of M&Ms and 1/2 cup of choco chips. I had mini M&Ms and Kirkland semi sweet choco chips. You will also need 1/4 cup of M&Ms and 1/4 cup of choco chips later on. Keep them aside.
  9. Stick the dough in the refrigerator for 2 to 3 hours.
  10. When you take out the dough, you should be able to roll it in a ball, else use an ice cream scoop or a cookie dough scoop. I use my hands.
  11. Preheat the oven to 350F. Take a cookie sheet, line it up with parchment paper.
  12. Using a tablespoon, scoop out the dough and roll into balls. Space them 2 inches apart on the cookie sheet. Using the tablespoon ensures same sized cookies. If you have a kitchen scale, you can weigh each ball for same weight.
  13. Get the kid hovering in the kitchen to stick M&Ms and choco chips that you had kept aside on each cookie dough ball. I asked three to four additions to each one, but mine got her own way and stuck them liberally.
  14. Put the cookie tray in the pre heated oven, and bake for 14 minutes. Take out the tray and let the cookies remain on the tray for 2 minutes. Place them gently on a wire rack to cool, they are soft when right out of the oven.
  15. These taste the best when eaten warm, straight from the cooling rack. If some remain, store them in an air tight container. I make dough balls, stick them in the freezer in a big plate for 2 hours. When they harden up, I put them in a zip lock and store them in the freezer for a month, so that I can bake a fresh small batch every weekend. Just take the cookie dough balls from the freezer and place them straight in the preheated oven.
  16. The original recipe says 375F, but 14 minutes at 350F worked best for me.

 

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: Eggless Cumin Cookies (Jeera Biscuits) | Aroma of Spices

  2. Hi I am so glad I found your site, I really found you by accident, while I was researching
    on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank you
    for a remarkable post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read through it all at
    the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS
    feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the awesome b.

Please leave a comment if you liked what you read..

